Olson, James Stuart.

Where the Domino Fell : America and Vietnam 1945-2010 - 6th ed. - Hoboken : Wiley, 2013. - 1 online resource (319 p.) - eBooks on Demand .

Cover; Title page; Copyright page; Contents; Preface; Prologue; 1: Eternal War; 2: The First Indochina War, 1945-1954; 3: The Making of a Quagmire, 1954-1960; 4: The New Frontier in Vietnam, 1961-1963; 5: Planning a Tragedy, 1963-1965; 6: Into the Abyss, 1965-1966; 7: The Mirage of Progress, 1966-1967; 8: Tet and the Year of the Monkey, 1968; 9: The Beginning of the End, 1969-1970; 10: The Fall of South Vietnam, 1970-1975; 11: Distorted Images, Missed Opportunities, 1975-1995; 12: Oliver Stone's Vietnam; Selected Bibliography; A Vietnam War Chronology; Glossary and Guide to Acronyms; Index

This updated, expanded edition of Where the Domino Fell recounts the history of American involvement in Vietnam from the end of World War II, clarifying the political aims, military strategy, and social and economic factors that contributed to the participants' actions. Revised and updated to include an examination of Vietnam through the point of view of the soldiers themselves, and brings the story up to the present day through a look at how the war has been memorializedA final chapter examines Vietnam through the lens of Oliver Stone's films and opens up a discu

9781118608685 39.95 (NL)

United States -- Foreign relations -- Vietnam.
Vietnam -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Vietnam -- History -- 1945-1975.
Vietnam -- History -- 1975-.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States.

Electronic books.

DS558 .O45 2014

959.704 959.7043373