Macdonald, Hugh.

Bizet. - Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2014. - 1 online resource (321 p.) - eBooks on Demand Master Musicians Series . - Master Musicians Series .

Cover; BIZET; Copyright; Dedication; Contents; Preface; List of Illustrations; CHAPTER ONE:1838-1857: Le Docteur Miracle; CHAPTER TWO:1858-1860: Don Procopio; CHAPTER THREE:1860-1863: Les Pêcheurs de perles; CHAPTER FOUR:1864-1865: Ivan IV; CHAPTER FIVE:1866-1867: La Jolie Fille de Perth; CHAPTER SIX:1868-1870: La Coupe du Roi de Thulé; CHAPTER SEVEN:1870-1872: Djamileh; CHAPTER EIGHT:1872-1873: Don Rodrigue; CHAPTER NINE:1873-1875: Carmen; CHAPTER TEN:1875-2014: Life after Death; APPENDIX A:Calendar; APPENDIX B:List of Works; APPENDIX C:Personalia; Select Bibliography; Works Index; Index

Today Georges Bizet is most immediately recognized as the composer of the acclaimed opera Carmen. One of the most frequently performed operas for over a century, Carmen explores concepts such as the femme fatale and murderous jealousy with vivacity, color, and a wealth of melody. Yet it is only one act in Bizet's story. In Bizet, renowned musicologist Hugh Macdonald goes beyond the composer's most famous opera to take an in-depth look at his entire life and oeuvre. In so doing, Macdonald identifies a number of previously unknown pieces by Bizet, assembling the first comprehensive catalogue of

9780199781614 62 (NL)

Bizet, Georges, -- 1838-1875.
Composers -- France -- Biography.

Electronic books.

ML410.B62 .M384 2014