Normal view MARC view ISBD view

All this could be yours / Jami Attenberg.

By: Attenberg, Jami [author.].
Material type: TextTextPublisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019Description: 299 pages ; 22 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780544824256 (hardcover) :.Subject(s): Family secrets -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. | Humorous fiction.Additional physical formats: Online version:: All this could be yoursDDC classification: 813/.6 LOC classification: PS3601.T784 | A795 2019Other classification: FIC045000 | FIC046000 | FIC019000 | FIC016000 Summary: "From New York Times best-selling author Jami Attenberg comes a sharp, funny, and emotionally powerful novel about a family reuniting at the deathbed of its patriarch. In reckoning with his secret past, can they rebuild and begin anew?"-- Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Bestseller University of Texas At Tyler
Bestseller Collection - 2nd Floor
PS3601.T784A795 2019 (Browse shelf) Available 1000000005867

Library Journal, October 01, 2019

Booklist, September 01, 2019

Kirkus Reviews, August 15, 2019

Publishers Weekly, July 22, 2019

"From New York Times best-selling author Jami Attenberg comes a sharp, funny, and emotionally powerful novel about a family reuniting at the deathbed of its patriarch. In reckoning with his secret past, can they rebuild and begin anew?"-- Provided by publisher.

Adult Brodart.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Victor Tuchman is the family patriarch in this whirling dervish of a novel. The story unfolds on the day he has a fatal heart attack. Victor was a criminal in his business life and a tyrant in his personal life. His wife Barbra, pacing the hospital halls, is counting her steps and recounting their dysfunctional life together. Daughter Alex, an attorney in Chicago, flies to New Orleans, not for a final goodbye but to cajole her mother into spilling the beans about her father's criminality. Gary, Victor's son, is in Los Angeles and deliberately misses his flight, unwilling to say goodbye,--which is understandable, as he rehashes his life with the abusive man lying in the hospital bed. Gary's wife, Twyla, does visit, her mind wandering through her Southern upbringing and a disastrous, shocking affair. Attenberg (All Grown Up) is a master of subtlety as she divulges everyone's thoughts, including the one-off characters such as the clerk at a CVS and the coroner. The unusual twist here is that readers learn all their stories while the characters do not. VERDICT Contemporary family sagas don't get much better than this novel, which should appeal to fans of Jonathan Franzen's The Corrections or Jennifer Egan's Manhattan Beach. [See Prepub Alert, 3/25/19.]--Stacy Alesi, Eugene M. & Christine E. Lynn Lib., Lynn Univ., Boca Raton, FL

Author notes provided by Syndetics

JAMI ATTENBERG is the New York Times best-selling author of seven books of fiction, including The Middlesteins and All Grown Up. She has contributed essays to the New York Times Magazine, the Wall Street Journal, the Sunday Times, and Longreads, among other publications. She lives in New Orleans.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.