Long way down / Jason Reynolds.

By: Reynolds, Jason [author.]Material type: TextTextEdition: First editionDescription: 306 pages ; 22 cmContent type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781481438254; 1481438255; 9781481438261; 1481438263; 9780605988828; 060598882XSubject(s): Juvenile delinquency -- Fiction | Murder -- Fiction | Revenge -- Fiction | Brothers -- Fiction | Conduct of life -- Fiction | Youth, Black -- Fiction | Homicide -- FictionGenre/Form: Ghost stories.DDC classification: 811.54 LOC classification: PZ7.5.R49 | Lon 2017PS3618.E9753 | L66 2017Awards: A Junior Library Guild selection, February 2018 | CILIP Carnegie Medal Shortlist, 2019 | Coretta Scott King Author Award, 2018 | Edgar Award Nominee for Best Young Adult, 2018 | Horn Book Fanfare List, 2017 | Lincoln Award: Illinois Teen Readers' Choice Nominee, 2020 | Michael L. Printz Honor, 2018 | NAACP Image Award Nominee for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth/Teens, 2018 | National Book Award Nominee for Young People's Literature, 2017 | Newbery Honor Book, 2018 | School Library Journal's Best Books, 2017 | Walter Award, Teen Category, 2018 | South Dakota Teen Choice Book Award (High School), 2019-2020Summary: There are three rules in the neighborhood: Don't cry ; Don't snitch ; Get revenge. Will takes his dead brother Shawn's gun, and gets in the elevator on the 7th floor. As the elevator stops on each floor, someone connected to Shawn gets on. Someone already dead. Dead by teenage gun violence. And each has something to share with Will.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window Awards: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Call number Status Date due Barcode
CML Juvenile Fiction University of Texas At Tyler
CML Juvenile Fiction Area
R4620LO (Browse shelf) Checked out 11/04/2020 0000002258838

"A Caitlyn Dlouhy book."

There are three rules in the neighborhood: Don't cry ; Don't snitch ; Get revenge. Will takes his dead brother Shawn's gun, and gets in the elevator on the 7th floor. As the elevator stops on each floor, someone connected to Shawn gets on. Someone already dead. Dead by teenage gun violence. And each has something to share with Will.

Young Adult.

720 Lexile.

A Junior Library Guild selection, February 2018

CILIP Carnegie Medal Shortlist, 2019

Coretta Scott King Author Award, 2018

Edgar Award Nominee for Best Young Adult, 2018

Horn Book Fanfare List, 2017

Lincoln Award: Illinois Teen Readers' Choice Nominee, 2020

Michael L. Printz Honor, 2018

NAACP Image Award Nominee for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth/Teens, 2018

National Book Award Nominee for Young People's Literature, 2017

Newbery Honor Book, 2018

School Library Journal's Best Books, 2017

Walter Award, Teen Category, 2018

South Dakota Teen Choice Book Award (High School), 2019-2020

Reviews provided by Syndetics

School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Fifteen-year-old Will's big brother has been shot and killed. According to the rules that Will has been taught, it is now his job to kill the person responsible. He easily finds his brother's gun and gets on the elevator to head down from his eighth-floor apartment. But it's a long way down to the ground floor. At each floor, a different person gets on to tell a story. Each of these people is already dead. As they relate their tales, readers learn about the cycle of violence in which Will is caught up. The protagonist faces a difficult choice, one that is a reality for many young people. Teens are left with an unresolved ending that goes beyond the simple question of whether Will will seek revenge. Told in verse, this title is fabulistic in its simplicity and begs to be discussed. Its hook makes for an excellent booktalk. It will pair well with Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and Reynolds's previous works. The unique narrative structure also makes it an excellent read-alike for Walter Dean Myers's Monster. VERDICT This powerful work is an important addition to any collection.-Kristin Anderson, Columbus Metropolitan Library System, OH © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Author notes provided by Syndetics

Jason Reynolds is the author of When I Was the Greatest, for which he won the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award for New Talent. His debut middle grade book, As Brave As You, was awarded the 2016 Kirkus Prize for young readers'. His other works include Boy in the Black Suit, and All American Boys.

(Bowker Author Biography)

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.